Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​Departments/Parastatal Bodies​


Water Resources Unit

The Water Resources Unit operates under the aegis of the Ministry and is responsible for the implementation of water mobilization projects. It was established in May 1993.

Energy Efficiency Management Office

The Energy Efficiency Management Office (EEMO) has been set up under Section 4 of the Energy Efficiency Act 2011 with the objectives of, among others, of promoting awareness for the efficient use of energy as a means to reduce carbon emissions and protect the environment.

Radiation Safety and Nuclear Security Authority

Radiation Safety and Nuclear Security Authority (RSNSA) is an independent regulatory body established under the Radiation Safety and Nuclear Security Act 2018, with main objective to regulate and control all radiation sources and practices for the adequate protection of people and the environment against the harmful effects of radiation, both now and in the future, for the safety of practices and the security of radioactive sources.

 Please visit the website of RSNSA for more information

Parastatal Bodies​

Central Water Authority​

The Central Water Authority Act 20/1971, declared by proclamation with effect from July 1971, established the Central Water Authority (CWA) and provides for the latter to be administered and controlled by a Central Water Board (CWB). During the last 45 years of its existence, the CWA has strived to make piped potable water universally accessible in Mauritius.

Wastewater Management Authority

The WMA, established in 2000, under the Wastewater Management Authority Act 2000, operates under the aegis of the Ministry of Energy and Public Utilities.  The core service of the WMA is the collection and treatment of domestic, commercial and industrial wastewaters for disposal to an environmentally acceptable quality, ensuring the country's sustainable development through the provision of appropriate water pollution standards, wastewater control systems and management services to the entire population of Mauritius.​


Central Electricity Board

The Central Electricity Board (CEB) is a parastatal body wholly owned by the Government of Mauritius and reporting to the Ministry of Energy and Public Utilities. It is empowered by the Central Electricity Board Act 1963 and the CEB's business is to "prepare and carry out development schemes with the general object of promoting, coordinating and improving the generation, transmission, distribution and sale of electricity" in Mauritius.  

Mauritius Renewable Energy Agency​​

The Mauritius Renewable Energy Agency (MARENA) was enacted by the MARENA Act of 2015. It was created to oversee the development of renewable energy in Mauritius. It is responsible to promote renewable energy and create an environment conducive to the development of renewable energy.​

Utility Regulatory Authority

The Utility Regulatory Authority (URA) is an independent body set up by the Government of Mauritius and its role is to regulate the utility services, namely electricity, water and wastewater. Its objects are to ensure the sustainability and viability of the utility services; protect the interests of consumers; promote efficiency in both operations and investments in respect of utility services; and promote fair competition in the utility services industry.​